This seminar is open to everyone interested in current research in networking, communications, and DSP. It is designed to present current topics of interests and provide a forum for interactions between fellow researchers with diverse interests. For Fall 2014, the regular seminar time is 3:00-4:00 PM on Mondays, 521 Cory (Hogan room).

Announcements

Schedule

Mon., Sep. 22 On adaptation in shape constrained estimation

Adityanand Guntuboyina

Department of Statistics, UC Berkeley

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Sep. 29 Phase retrieval by non-convex optimization: theory and algorithms

Mahdi Soltanolkotabi

EECS, UC Berkeley

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Oct. 6 Information theory and Optimal Algorithms for DNA and RNA Sequencing.

Sreeram Kannan

EECS, UC Berkeley

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Oct. 20 Transitory Queues

Rahul Jain

Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Southern California

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Oct. 27 Iterative Closest Spectral Kernel Maps

Alon Shtern

Electrical Engineering, Technion

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Nov. 3 Uncertainty assessment in High-dimensional Regression

Adel Javanmard

EECS, UC Berkeley and EE, Stanford University

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Thur., Nov. 6 Resource allocation for Hybrid ARQ based Mobile networks

Philippe Ciblat

EE, Telecom ParisTech, Paris.

531 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Nov. 10 **Canceled**

Ayfer Ozgur

Information Systems Laboratory, EE, Stanford University

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Nov. 17 Why and How to Estimate Mutual Information?

Kartik Venkat

Information Systems Laboratory, EE, Stanford University

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Nov. 24 Statistical and Computational Guarantees for the EM algorithm

Sivaraman Balakrishnan

Department of Statistics, UC Berkeley

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

Mon., Dec. 01 TBA

Ilan Shomorony

EECS, UC Berkeley

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

TBA TBA*

Gireeja Ranade

EECS, UC Berkeley

521 Cory , 3:00-4:00PM

*This is the speaker's dissertation talk.
UC Berkeley Networking
Varun Jog and Vasuki Narasimha Swamy
Last Modification Date: Monday, November 17, 2014